It is currently 29 Apr 2024, 05:29

All times are UTC+11:00

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2014, 18:47 
Novice Member

Hey people
ive been spearfishing for a few years now though still feel like a bit of a newby. Kinda got meself into the sport and only guessing on the best setups and finding the good spots within vic. Thats why im over the moon i found a forum about spearfishing thats members are victorian. I dive mainly around west PPB and did have a spot on the great ocean road before it becoming a marine park ( :( no more crayfish for me). A few things ive wanted ask is just about peoples setups. Where do u keep your fish once speared? i just drag my float behind me and have a bag dangling from it, but do find in places with currant it gives me a bit of drag resistance. And secondly im after a couple spots where i can spear my 4 main targetted species flathead, KGW, squid and pinky/ snapper. i have speared snapper upto 2kg in my spots but they are to and far between. i dont expect you to give me exact gps marks of your spots but just some guidance. thanks a heap guys.

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2014, 19:03 
Novice Member

Not sure how to resize images otherwise ide post some pics

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2014, 20:23 
Forum Member

Hey mate, I find a speed needle heaps better than a bag, you still get some drag but not as much, gut the fish straight away and they weigh a little less and hopefull attract some other fish.
Where are you located, where do you usually dive?

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2014, 21:03 
Expert Member (SFD)

2kg snapper is a good fish! In Vic fish that are few and far between.

PostPosted: 14 Feb 2014, 13:47 
Novice Member

I'm from around Werribee mate. Dive mainly west ppb and a bit up great ocean rd. where do you get the needle from mate. And is that connected to your speargun? And yeah mate was stoked with a 2kg snapper. I've seen a few that size but usually to quick. Got a 3.3kg butterfish on the weekend which I was stoked with

PostPosted: 14 Feb 2014, 14:52